Events

Thursday 29 June - Friday 7 July

Black Boot Legends Gallery

Black Boot Legends Gallery

An outstanding collection of more than 150 pre-1995 All Black-related photographs will be on public display in an indoor/outdoor Gallery at Te Manawa, Palmerston North, in June to celebrate the Lions’ Tour. The images, presented on almost life-sized banners, are from the pre-professional, pre-1995 era when most players wore black boots, hence the title “Black Boot Legends Gallery”. As most of the images have been installed in outside spaces this exhibition can be viewed day or night. Many of the images have never been seen publicly before and are sourced from historic photographic collections, primarily from Wellington photographer Barry Durrant, with the help of former All Black captain Andy Leslie and outstanding captions written by leading rugby writer, Phil Gifford. Proudly supported by Palmerston North City Council. This event would like to recognise its sponsors: Higgins Concrete, Harford, NZRPA, NZ Rugby Museum, Humphries Construction, Scafit Ltd, Morris, RYOS & BCD Travel.

Dates Tuesday 13 June, 12:00am
  Wednesday 14 June, 12:00am
  Thursday 15 June, 12:00am
  Friday 16 June, 12:00am
  Saturday 17 June, 12:00am
  Sunday 18 June, 12:00am
  Monday 19 June, 12:00am
  Tuesday 20 June, 12:00am
  Wednesday 21 June, 12:00am
  Thursday 22 June, 12:00am
  Friday 23 June, 12:00am
  Saturday 24 June, 12:00am
  Sunday 25 June, 12:00am
  Monday 26 June, 12:00am
  Tuesday 27 June, 12:00am
  Wednesday 28 June, 12:00am
  Thursday 29 June, 12:00am
  Friday 30 June, 12:00am
  Saturday 1 July, 12:00am
  Sunday 2 July, 12:00am
  Monday 3 July, 12:00am
  Tuesday 4 July, 12:00am
  Wednesday 5 July, 12:00am
  Thursday 6 July, 12:00am
  Friday 7 July, 12:00am
Location Te Manawa Museum of Art, Science and History
Share icon_FB icon_TW icon_EVTFR